Convention Headlines

Accomack County farmer re-elected to Farm Bureau board

Vegetable and grain producer David L. Hickman of Horntown was elected Nov. 29 to a sixth three-year term on the Virginia Farm Bureau Federation board of directors.

Elections of officers and directors were held at the VFBF 2012 Annual Convention in Chantilly.

Hickman chairs the VFBF Small Fruit & Vegetable Advisory Committee and is a member of the organization’s Budget & Audit Committee. As a member of the board of directors he will represent Farm Bureau producer members in Accomack, Isle of Wight and Northampton counties and the cities of Chesapeake, Suffolk and Virginia Beach.

He is a past president of the Accomack County Farm Bureau and former chairman of that organization’s Young Farmers Committee.

In addition to his Farm Bureau involvement, Hickman is a board member and past chairman of the Virginia Irish Potato Board, a member of the Accomack County Board of Equalization and a member and past director of the Virginia Potato and Vegetable Growers Association.

He is the co-owner and operator of Dublin Farms Inc., which produces sweet corn, potatoes, snap beans, soybeans and wheat. He and his wife, Chessie, have three sons, two of whom are involved with the farm operation.

With nearly 150,000 members in 88 county Farm Bureaus, VFBF is Virginia’s largest farmers’ advocacy group. Farm Bureau is a non-governmental, nonpartisan, voluntary organization committed to protecting Virginia’s farms and ensuring a safe, fresh and locally grown food supply. View more convention news as it becomes available at

Contact Greg Hicks, VFBF vice president of communications, at 804-241-4633.


Share |
About Us | Careers | Contact Us | Terms of Service | Copyright Virginia Farm Bureau 2014