Convention Headlines

Wythe County farmer will represent young producers on Farm Bureau board

Wythe County dairy, cattle and pumpkin producer Nate Aker of Wytheville has been elected to a two-year term as chairman of the Virginia Farm Bureau Federation Young Farmers Committee.

Elections of officers and directors were held at the VFBF 2012 Annual Convention in Chantilly. The VFBF Young Farmers Committee chairman also serves on the organization’s board of directors.

Aker has served on the Young Farmers Committee for two years, representing the counties of Bland, Carroll, Giles, Floyd, Montgomery, Pulaski and Wythe. He also chairs the Wythe County Farm Bureau Young Farmers Committee.

Aker is the third generation to work in his family’s dairy operation. He also runs a pumpkin and stocker cattle program. He is a 2001 graduate of Virginia Tech’s Agricultural Technology Program.

His wife, April, grew up on a beef and sheep farm, where she enjoyed showing sheep through 4-H. She holds a degree in fashion merchandising and marketing and is finishing a degree in elementary education to earn certification as an elementary school teacher.

The Akers have one daughter, Abby.

The VFBF Young Farmers Program offers opportunities to support agriculture while building leadership and public speaking skills and becoming involved in the legislative process.

With nearly 150,000 members in 88 county Farm Bureaus, VFBF is Virginia’s largest farmers’ advocacy group. Farm Bureau is a non-governmental, nonpartisan, voluntary organization committed to protecting Virginia’s farms and ensuring a safe, fresh and locally grown food supply. View more convention news as it becomes available at

Contact Greg Hicks, VFBF vice president of communications, at 804-241-4633.


Share |
About Us | Careers | Contact Us | Terms of Service | Copyright Virginia Farm Bureau 2014