News Headlines

Nine members of Congress in Va. receive national award

RICHMOND—Nine Virginia members of the 112th Congress received the American Farm Bureau Federation’s Friend of Farm Bureau Award. The award is given at the end of each Congress to those members who were nominated by their respective state Farm Bureaus and approved by the AFBF board of directors.

This award is based upon voting records on AFBF’s priority issues established by the AFBF board of directors, the number of bills that a member has sponsored and co-sponsored, specific leadership roles on Farm Bureau priority issues and how accessible and responsive that member is to Farm Bureau members and leaders.

This year’s Virginia recipients are Sen. Mark Warner (D), Rep. Eric Cantor (R), Rep. Randy Forbes (R), Rep. Bob Goodlatte (R), Rep. Morgan Griffith (R), Rep. Robert Hurt (R), Rep. Scott Rigell (R), Rep. Robert Wittman (R) and Rep. Frank Wolf (R).

“In their own unique way, each of these members of Congress has demonstrated leadership on issues affecting farmers and the commonwealth’s economic welfare,” said Virginia Farm Bureau Federation President Wayne F. Pryor.

“Their action on the budget, the environment, labor and trade issues helped maintain agriculture as Virginia’s largest economic sector. Attention to tedious amendments and the marathon pace of federal legislation are reflected in the designation as a friend of Farm Bureau,” Pryor said. “On behalf of the Virginia Farm Bureau Federation, we thank and commend each of them for their service.”

Contact Kelly Pruitt, VFBF governmental relations, at 804-290-1293.


Share |
About Us | Careers | Contact Us | Terms of Service | Copyright Virginia Farm Bureau 2014